Wow. I have a lot of free time.

Don’t get me wrong.  I’m a busy girl.  I have a job and errands and I exercise and I walk my dog.

I cook meals for myself, and often I do chores. I have lots of people in my life.  I even go on dates (occasionally).

Really, I have things to do.

But Wow.  I have a lot of free time.

You’d think that would make this whole resolution thing a ton easier.  But you know what I’ve noticed?

It is harder to pick a resolution when you have almost unlimited options!

I knew certain goals were just not realistic during this past year.  Now almost anything is possible and, to be honest, it’s a little overwhelming.  To demonstrate, I’ve made a mind map of my resolution brainstorming – 10 minutes worth – from just this afternoon.

Potential June Resolutions

That’s right, in just under 10 minutes, I identified 31 potential resolutions.

And I can’t rule ANY of them out because I don’t have the time, or they won’t fit with my study schedule, or I’m just too stressed out.

I DO have the time.  I DON’T have a study schedule.  And I’m NOT stressed out.

Except by the fact that I have too many damn resolutions to choose from.

Well, I’m here to tell you, I can’t do it.  I can’t pick just one.   But I can’t pick 31 either.  I think I’ll compromise with two.

My June’s Resolution(s):

  • Get Into the Woods – I’ve missed this the most, and whether it’s a short woods walk with Hannah or a real hike, I’m going to do it every week, at least twice.
  • Implement Finishing Touches – One of my friends has a routine she calls ‘Finishing Touches.’  At the end of every day, she takes 10-15 minutes to pick up the house.  I probably do this about 1/3 of the time, and I am SO MUCH HAPPIER when I am in this habit.  This month, I’m going to do it every night.
This doesn’t mean I won’t cook with friends, or take a piano lesson, or have porch nights in June.  It just means that I’m promising myself to do AT LEAST these two things.  For 30 days.  Here I go!

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Wow. I have a lot of free time.

  1. Virginia

    We do 10-minute-clean-up every night after dinner (in theory). It is amazing how much tidier you can make a space with such a short time commitment, and in our case we have five people on the job!

  2. Elaine

    I love the “finishing touches!” That’s been one of my goals for years! Elaine

  3. Janice

    Wow finishing touches is such a beautiful way to express that. Makes the idea of tidying up really connect to the beauty and peace you are creating in your home.

Leave a Reply

